Why I Listen to Classical Music During Commutes

Driving is among the single greatest pleasures, getting in a car and being free to go pretty much wherever I want is just amazingly fun–especially being in a car that’s fun to drive.

I love my car, a 2000 VW Passat.

WP_20131212_001

The only thing I hate: traffic snarls.

Living in the Triangle, a region bordered by Raleigh, Chapel Hill, and Durham, traffic is a reality that we deal with on the daily. But it’s not unique RTP area: DC, Los Angeles, Sao Paulo, Beijing all have worse traffic. However, I have found the best solution to boredom and road rage during the 5pm homeward commute.

ClassicalDrive

Screw the Commercial-Free Drive at 5. Bring back Bach!

  • Classical Music is soothing: when I’m driving in stop and go traffic on a hot day when I’d very much rather be where I’m going, Pop and Rock are too intense and BPM intense. After a while, listening to Bruno Mars and Ke$ha and Lady Gaga and whoever else is out there becomes drubbing. Classical music is like a river. It flows, gets softer and harder as the notes progress and varies enough to make every drive magical.
  • How could you say no to this face?
  • Classical music is cultured: sure, I could listen to this every hour:

If you go hard you gotta get on the floor
If you’re a party freak then step on the floor
If you’re an animal then tear up the floor
Break a sweat on the floor
Yeah we work on the floor
Don’t stop keep it moving
Put your drinks up
Pick your body up and drop it on the floor
Let the rhythm change your world on the floor
You know we’re running shit tonight on the floor
Brazil, Morocco
London to Ibiza
Straight to L.A. New York
Vegas to Africa (Dale!)

~Jennifer Lopez, On the Floor

    • That’s right. She just rhymed floor with floor EIGHT times. But with Classical, I get difference, and get to know more about a culture that seems out of touch in a very easy and effortless way
  • It’s eternally commercial-free: most classical stations are nonprofits. They don’t air ads, save for a quick one for their sponsor. What does this mean for you? It means you don’t have to listen to how “Sona Med Spa’s laser hair removal therapy is, like, the best thing EVAAAAAAR” or about “BOOTY FEST WITH SLEEPING BOOTY”. Both are ads I heard this past year.

I win.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. My latest post on my music blog is inspired by potholes on our roads here in the Detroit area.

    You could read it at goodmusicspeaks.wordpress.com

    I hope you would enjoy it!
    Rich

    1. raulrgonza says:

      I gave it a read. Roadsworks always are terrible, but kudos to you for finding beauty in one of the most annoying parts of urban life.

Leave a Reply

