The Five Senses of Life: Taste

Cooking is fun, and whoever says it’s not has obviously not tried their damndest to make a quality home-cooked meal.

Over the weekend, my girlfriend and I had some friends over for dinner at my apartment. On the menu: fried chickpeas with paprika, pork chops, my recipe for Mexican Red Rice, and sauteéd zucchini with yellow bell pepper and mushrooms. Nom, right?

Cooking is hard, but only because it requires patience, and a knowledge of when to taste to check the progress of a dish.

In fact, tasting the progress is one of the best tips anyone can ever give you when cooking.

Now comes the big metaphorical part: imagine our lives as those chickpeas in that pan–slowly popping and frying our way into readiness. Unlike a recipe, which usually has instructions about when to add or take away things (unless it’s a crappy recipe), our lives have no more of an instruction manual than they do a warranty (so be careful!).

5SensesTaste

When I changed my major from Mechanical Engineering to Operations & Supply Chain Management, I too was unsure about whether I was making the right move. I mean hella unsure. Like, constant second-guessing unsure. But by taking account of where I was in my academic career–tasting the dish–I was able to make it at least a little less hard on myself. Now that I’ve changed, I am more comfortable with the position I’m in and feel better prepared to move forward.

But I had to taste it.

Too often in our lives we barge into or out of a situation prematurely–and end up wreaking more havoc than we intended in the process. Our senses were invented for a reason, and Mr. Big Beard in the Sky would like us to use them–lest we fall in to a rut of not taking account of our own lives.

Just like words have flavor, our decisions we make have them too. After making a few decisions, we begin to see the fruits of out labor take shape. Make too many wrong decisions–our dish tastes bad. Make too many good ones–and you can never have too many good ones, our dish will be FANTASTIC.

But the only way to reach that point is to be willing to break out the tasting spoon mid-cooking.

Leave a Reply

